The GEBRL Interview Series: Six questions with our scientists

Dr Jia Xu

1. Tell us about your role at Griffith University

I’m a Research Fellow at the Australian Rivers Institute and in the EBRL. My research focuses mainly on the processing and modification of biodegradable materials and bio-macromolecules. I’m also interested in the preparation of organic and inorganic composite materials for a variety of applications.

2. Did you always want to work in science when you were younger?

My parents told me that – when I was very young – I would always say that I wanted to be a scientist. I have been engaged in scientific and research-related activity since I started working, so it might be a kind of fate!

3. What is your favourite part of your job?

When I focus on something and realise my ideas I am very happy.

4. What advice would you give to other researchers in this space?

Try to communicate with others as much as possible and be brave enough to try new ideas when you see the chance!

5. What kind of impact do you hope your research will have?

It would be very gratifying if a material I designed one day had commercial applications.

6. What do you like to do with your time away from the lab and the office?

I enjoy participating in sports and outdoor exercise.

Leave a comment